TLD Rant: Clerk in Kentucky Chooses Jail Over Deal on Same-Sex Marriage

image

The clerk, Kim Davis of Rowan County, Ky. (Ty Wright/Getty Images)

Mike B:

It’s not often I post something on Facebook and get almost an entirely negative response from my Facebook friends, whom for the most part span the political spectrum. But I did when I posted this article with this comment:

“I’m all for equal rights whatever but you can’t throw people in jail over religious beliefs! That’s insane! If the county chooses to let her go that’s their own business but you can’t throw people in jail, this is
not Nazi Germany! Really fed up with political correctness!”

Now some of the responses, which people can see here, rightly point out that technically this lady wasn’t jailed for her religious beliefs. Rather she was jailed for contempt of court. Yes, that is true. My response was essentially, “well okay, but at the end of the day the fact remains … she is actually going to jail, for all intents and purposes, for her religious beliefs.”

All technicalities and legalese aside, I do see this as someone going to jail for religious beliefs. Fact of the matter is were it not for her conviction on the subject, she would be free right now.

For the record I’m for gay marriage. It’s not something I’m particularly passionate about, I’ve never written on it before in all my years as a journalist. My logic of thinking is sexuality, at least for those of us who aren’t bi-sexual, is not a choice. No amount of fidgeting with laws or religious doctrine is going to change someone’s sexual preference. It’s not the most sympathetic or compassionate line of reasoning, but that’s basically why I support gay marriage.

I also, much more passionately, wish to defend others’ right to disagree. As long as they are not physically hurting or threatening them, I support everyone’s right to say it’s wrong, immoral, or whatever choice of words they choose. That does not mean I agree with them, it’s just the principal of supporting free speech.

So there you have it. I think this lady being in jail, even though I disagree with her on the issue at hand, is wrong. I found it interesting, so do the gay couples originally involved in suing her.

It’s one thing to demand equality. It’s another thing to demand endorsement. Maybe that sounds cold, but the flip side is the state dictating free speech, a dangerous precedent that should not be crossed.

That’s enough ranting for me. Disagree? Agree? Think I’m a commie-Nazi hater without a cause? Sound it out in the comments below.

-Mike B


 

By ALAN BLINDER and TAMAR LEWIN
SEPT. 3, 2015 (in the NY Times)

ASHLAND, Ky. —  A Kentucky county clerk who has become a symbol of religious opposition to same-sex marriage  was jailed Thursday after defying a federal court order to issue licenses to gay couples.

The clerk, Kim Davis of Rowan County, KY, was ordered detained for contempt of court and later rejected a proposal to allow her deputies to
process same-sex marriage licenses that could have prompted her release.

Instead, on a day when one of Ms. Davis’s lawyers said she would not retreat from or modify her stand despite a Supreme Court ruling legalizing same-sex marriage, Judge David L. Bunning of United States District Court secured commitments from five of Ms. Davis’s deputies to begin providing the licenses. At least two couples planned to seek marriage licenses Friday.

Continue reading the main story.

Leave a Reply

